My top 10 romantic-est movies of all time: Converting Winter to Summer

Hello, molweni and salaam my lovely apricots. Now, as well know, the festive season is upon us with Christmas and New Year’s right at our doorstep. This is a time of happiness, open-toed shoes and ill-fitting summer romances that leave us reeling, if only for a few brief moments.

For some of us however, summer is a time of sadness, of longing for loved-ones and lovers that live far away. Like many earthlings I have met before, I am a winter baby. I long for blisteringly cold winter days, lying under the blankets, as cosy as a chicken tortilla, mismatched over-sized socks snugly in tow.

winter
Where my jersey at?

Instead of giving you a long list of weapons that you could use to kill all happy couples that pass you by during this difficult time, my little Wintries, I have simply decided to list my favorite romantic movies, to keep you busy whilst you long for your beloved. The idea is to keep the shades drawn like a vampire during the viewing of these sickeningly soppy love films (that I love) and pretend that sweet winter-and your sweet lover-has finally arrived.
Well, without further ado, I now present to you, my top 10 favorite chick-flicks!

1.) The Notebook-I loved both the novel by Nicholas Sparks and the movie starring Rachel McAdams and Ryan Gossling. If forbidden love stories starring rich girls and poor boys are your thing, you’ll definitely love this film. A stupendous tear-jerker of note.

noi
How would you help me remember our love if I’d suddenly forgot it all?

2.) Me Before You-Jojo Moyes is another one of my favorite authors. Although producing a tear and a sniffle, Me Before You is definitely a feel-good romance that can be watched again and again.

me
Presenting the eccentric and splendiforously crazy, Louisa Clarke!

3.) A Walk to Remember-A touching film of love, faith and cancer, but don’t worry, it’s nothing like that The Fault in our stars garbage.

walk.jpeg
The fault in our what?

4.) Kuch Kuch Hota Hai-This is one of my favourite Bollywood movies of all time. If you’ve ever been a girl who’s been hopelessly in love with her best guy friend, this movie is a must-see.

rahul.jpeg
The girl who’s always been your friend and loved you no matter what? She’s wifey.

5.) PS. I love you-I cried throughout this movie, and I don’t cry easily. Go and watch it! Now! Okay, okay, it stars Gerrard Butler, now are you enticed?

ps
Trust me, this is not some commercial garbage.

6.) Our Family Wedding-This rom-com is about an interracial couple who are about to marry, enough said.

Our-Family-Wedding-2.jpg
Ahem!

7.) Pride and Prejudice– I love period films and English accents! Jane Austen is a genius! If you love big frilly dresses, balls (not those balls! Parties!) and betrothals, this is definitely a film for you.

prider
You have bewitched me, mind body and soul and I love, love, love you!

8.) Romeo and Juliet-The original film showcased in 1968, not that travesty starring Leonardo Dicaprio.

R AND J.jpeg
Never was there a story of more woe than this of Juliet and her Romeo

9.) Bridget Jone’s Diary-What can I say, I love a good dilly romance just as much as the next person. Have I mentioned that it stars Collin Firth?

Bridget-Jones-Diary-1.jpg
Bless her

10.) Titanic-This beautiful film should be a reminder to all women out there that there is love after love, even really great love. Jack and Rose; one of the greatest love stories of all time.

titanic.jpeg
Jack, I’m flying!

That should keep you busy until winter comes a’knocking, and remember my little Wintries, a bit of sun is good, so don’t spend all day cooped up inside. Take a trip to the beach, shave your legs and just be happy. Until next time, Ciao!

Leave a Reply

